top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenée West

ch8/9

Ch 8:

I want to mention the filters they talk about in this chapter (artistic impulse, demographics, experience design, innovation, business and marketing, engineering, community, and playtesting).


We lead by impulse when making games. They mention doing what feels right. This is a great first step to a game. Then, I agree, that demographics are a main part of the game. I know that my demographic is my peers, but when making an actual game, a real demographic needs proper thinking. Now, the next ones are also important. HOWEVER, out of all, playtesting is like super important. There are so many issues you find in games once you start playing!


ch 9:

This chapter's takeaway was the 5 things men like to see vs 5 things women like to see. I want to touch on this briefly. Certain games target men over women and vice versa. Like, take My Hello Kitty Cafe for example, very CLEARLY a woman's game. So I think as a designer, it's important to have a game with a happy medium. My favorite game on Roblox atm is called "Abyssal." It targets both men and women. There are some elements men look for and elements women look for. EASILY one of the games rising through the ranks. But back to the reading. This relates back to demographics. If you're a man, you're inclined to make a game targeting men and vice versa.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Character set

I explain most of this on the paper. I have a lot to say about this design. So why Korean and Thai? For starters, I love the way both...

AED reading

For the reading, I'd like to point out specifics. They remark, "basically built out of a vertical and a round ." It's something...

Comentarios


bottom of page