top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenée West

Psychogeo

discuss how these might have application in contemporary art. List any relevant examples of works that might use similar ideas.


So there's the quote "Psychogeography is the fact that you have an opinion about a space the moment you step into it." In other words, perception. Also, "In its diverse forms, it embodies the desire to renew language, social life, and oneself."


So from what I gather, it's about challenging perception. So let's talk contemp art. No matter what we do, our perceptions of the world are always challenged. We can never separate how we perceive something from how it exists in an unbiased view. McEsher's works are always challenging your perception. Think about this for a minute. If a work doesn't challenge how you see the world, is It fully engaging? In my eyes, the images and visuals that constantly make me think and keep looking, are the ones that I will actively seek out again.


So I want to briefly discuss what it means to embody a desire to renew language, social life, and oneself. We want to be challenged. Not want, we ought! As humans, we are constantly looking for new things, ways to be better- enhanced, if you will. When we challenge what we think, we become open-minded to other viewpoints. So when it's mentioned to renew by all those points, we're talking about learning and adapting to better ourselves- at least how I took it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Character set

I explain most of this on the paper. I have a lot to say about this design. So why Korean and Thai? For starters, I love the way both...

AED reading

For the reading, I'd like to point out specifics. They remark, "basically built out of a vertical and a round ." It's something...

Comments


bottom of page