top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenée West

That one reading

I've a few points to mention.


"Cognitive load theory refers to the amount of new information our working memory can hold and the amount of tasks it can process." Yes, but have we not considered this theory limits multitasking? Is the storage of a designer-created task in long-term memory limiting multitasking in games? The number mentioned is 7. Can this be overcome with a quest log? What I'm hinting at is the games that purposely overload a player. The idea is to get the player overwhelmed- yet they do not quit the game- instead, they work to play through it. There are a few games on Roblox that target this idea.


The next point is controls. I can't tell you how many games I've visited where the design controls are so difficult to work with. Speaking of working with things, I LOVE it when games/sites play on connotations. I think there's an entire path you can take just playing on people's perceptions. Some of that stuff gets weird so fast.


Lastly, I want to end with grids. Now, I'm going to be a little more philosophical; However, is the world not a grid? We've heard of the Golden Ratio, but is that still not a grid of sorts? So then by that idea, everything we see has some sort of grid to it. I just thought it was interesting.


I lied. The real last thing is Hick's Law. I find it so fascinating. The more choices, the longer a decision. Some games are all about choice, some limit to 2. I think there's a way a designer can play into using that to their advantage.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Character set

I explain most of this on the paper. I have a lot to say about this design. So why Korean and Thai? For starters, I love the way both...

AED reading

For the reading, I'd like to point out specifics. They remark, "basically built out of a vertical and a round ." It's something...

Comments


bottom of page